CCCPB white on sky blue

Staff & Committees

    CCCPB is an autonomous congregation within the United Church of Christ. Our self-governance ensures everything gets done, from taking out the trash to inspiring people to go out and change the world for the better. Here's who is running the show right now.

Rev. Mr. Elvin Harrison
Acting Minister

    Mr. Harrison was ordained in the National Baptist Convention in 1991. He has served as youth minister at churches in Washington DC and Brooklyn N.Y. Elvin holds a B.S. from Jarvis Christian College and an MDiv. from Howard University School of Divinity. He has been a member of CCCPB since 2002. Elvin has worked with youth and young adults in several capacities. In May 2011, Elvin was granted privilege of call in the UCC.
    We are very fortunate to have Elvin as our current Acting Minister. Listen to this excellent sermon of Elvin's: Justice, Salt, and Light

Judith Oishei
Music Director

    Ms. Oishei's background is extensive in choral conducting, piano, singing, and playing the organ. It includes a Master of Music Degree in vocal arts from the Julliard School in New York City, where she graduated cum laude in 1992. She also holds a Bachelor of Music Degree in vocal arts from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. In addition, Judy has been in numerous operas, taught music, and she has been an accompanist at many fine institutions.

Rev. Mr. Jerry D. Lawritson
Retired Minister

    Mr. Lawritson graduated with a B.A. in philosophy from Doane College and did so with honors. He received his Masters of Divinity from Pacific School of Religion where he majored in New Testament Studies. Since then, his studies have been primarily in the fields of philosophy and theology. He has studied with some of the greatest thinkers of our time including Rev. Dr. Robert E. Fitch, Rev. Dr. Robert McAfee Brown, Rev. Dr. Gustavo Guttierrez, and Dr. Maurice Friedman.
    Jerry is the published author of the definitive essay on the subject of Martin Buber's response to the Shoah (Holocaust). At the invitation of the Lipinsky Institute for Judaic Studies at San Diego State University he delivered one of the annual lectures for the Maurice Friedman Lecture Series in Modern Jewish Philosophy.
    Mr. Lawritson has also attended the Summer Program in Theology at Oxford University, Oxford, England. His periodic lectures delivered at CCCPB cover a wide range of writers, thinkers, and artists and continue to be quite popular.
    Mr. Lawritson has been our minister since February 1986.
Jerry and his Deborah have two grown children, Matt and Dasha, and three grandchildren, Ashlee, Kyle, and Kelly.
    Listen to this excerpt from one of Jerry's most profound reflections: The Banquet

Elvin Harrison,
    Acting Minister
Judith Oishei, Music Director
Debbie McKesson, Moderator
Kathy Mendenhall, Treasurer
Debbie McKesson, Clerk
Beverly Shaffer, Secretary

Board of Trustees
Chair: Betty Breeden

Board of Deacons
Chair: Dee Snyder

Outreach Board
Chair: Cheryl Prince

Endowment Committee
Chair: Chuck Mendenhall

Church Council
The church Council is made up of the Church Moderator, Treasurer, Clerk, Secretary , and all the committee and board chairman.